Guidelines for Incoming Erasmus+ Staff Mobility

Within the Erasmus+KA171 Inter-Institutional Agreements, Ala-Too International University welcomes academic and administrative staff members from our European partner universities for a week teaching or training program. Within the program you can share your experience with AIU professors, students, have academic and cultural programs, learn Kyrgyz culture, traditions and values. The mobility program will be discussed and pre-determined before the mobility by heads of the departments or deans of the faculties to ensure the recognition of the mobility. The International Relations Offices provide administrative support for incoming staff for such issues as visa, accommodation, health insurance, preparation of the documents, etc. AIU IRO and Faculty Coordinators are responsible to accompany incoming staff during their stay at AIU and facilitate the carrying out of their planned mobility program. 

Eligibility Criteria:

  • English language level B2 minimum 

Required Documents for Application:

  • Official nomination letter from Home university 

  • Staff Mobility Agreement for Teaching or Training signed by host university

  • Copy of International Passport

Visa procedure:

EU residents have visa free privileges to Kyrgyz Republic. We will send an Invitation Letter, in case there will be questions at the airport. 

  • Citizens of 45 countries listed below can stay in Kyrgyzstan for up to 60 days: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary,  Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Korea, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, The Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Sweden, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uzbekistan, Vatican.

  • Citizens of 2 countries can stay in Kyrgyzstan for up to 90 days: Mongolia and Turkey.

  • Citizens of the following countries can stay in Kyrgyzstan for up to 30 days: Malaysia.

  • Citizens of the following countries can obtain a visa to Kyrgyzstan without a Letter of Invitation (LOI): Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cyprus, Indonesia, Israel, Macedonia. Mexico, Montenegro, Oman, Philippines, Romania, San Marino, Serbia, South Africa, Thailand, Venezuela, Vietnam.

  • Detailed information, list of countries in details, regulation processes you can find at the official web-page of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Kyrgyz Republic 

  • In case you need a visa to enter Kyrgyz Republic, the International Relations Office will send an Invitation Letter to you so that you can apply for a visa in your own country. 

  • Applicant has to arrive to Kyrgyz Republic in three months from the date mentioned in Visa


  • Before arrival you are advised to have adequate medical insurance coverage, especially for hospitalization cases. 


  • If you want to stay in the city center 

  • If you want to be closer to the mountains 

  • Other options you can find here 

Traveling  (if you want):


  • Taxi price from the airport to the city center is ~$7-10.

  • Taxi price from the university to the center of city is ~$2-3 for one way trip 

  • Hotel price per day is ~$ 20-100

  • Dinner or lunch in cafes is ~$10 per person

  • Street-food is ~$3,5 per person

  • Traveling in Kyrgyzstan is $~20 per day depends on the region

Link to the academic calendar and national holidays you can find here 


Contact Information:

Dinara Egemberdieva

Institutional Erasmus Coordinator

Office of International Relations

Room No: 212, 2nd Floor, A Block

Phone number: +996 312 63 14 25 (internal 10-27)


WhatsApp +996 777 581775